Blog Archives

International Reggae & World Music Awards Set for this Weekend in Trinidad


Shaggy and Tony Rebel to host the prestigious International Reggae And World Music Awards (IRAWMAs) this weekend in Trinidad.

The IRAWMAs will take place at The National Academy for the Performing Arts (NAPA) at Port of Spain, Trinidad on Saturday, May 28.

Live performances by Machel Montano, Tarrus Riley, Queen Ifrika, Freddy McGregor,  Soca Elvis, Macka Diamond, Dean Fraser, Denise Belfon, Tifa, Mighty Dow, and Rocky Dawuni.


Machel Montano, Damian Marley, Gyptian top IRAWMA

Damian Marley-Machel Montano-Gyptian

The International Reggae and World Music Awards (IRAWMA) comes to the Caribbean region this year with the ceremony set for Trinidad on May 28.

Topping the list of nominees is Reggae act Gyptian who is nominated in eight categories; followed by Trinidad and Tobago’s King of Soca, and recent winner of the Soca Monarch and Road March titles, Machel Montano who is nominated in seven categories. Also copping seven nods is Damian ‘Junior Gong’ Marley.

Reggae rhythm tag team Sly and Robbie received six nominations, while Dancehall star Vybz Kartel gained five. Other multiple nominees, includes: Jah Cure, Beenie Man, Elephant Man, I-Octane, JW and Blaze, Queen Ifrica, Shaggy, Rihanna, Nicki Minaj, Roy Cape, Romain Virgo, Tarrus Riley, Third World, Pitt Bull, Gramps Morgan, Kernel Roberts, Marcia Griffiths among others.

The 2010 nominees were disclosed by, Ephraim Martin, President of Martin’s International, organizers of the event.

The 30th IRAWMA will be held at the National Academy of the Performing Arts (NAPA), in Port of Spain. The celebrations will continue on May 29, with a concert of the nominees and winners, Reggae meets Soca and Chutney, at the Queens Park Savannah also in Port Of Spain Trinidad.

Martin notes that IRAWMA goes beyond the realm of simply awarding and acknowledging Reggae/Jamaican music. The ceremony also continues to recognize the wealth of regional (Caribbean) talent as evidenced by this year’s nominees comprising individuals and acts which represent the Caribbean, African and Latin American Diaspora.

Read more: